Citizen of the Year Award

COTY Cover

Chelsea is blessed with a wealth of residents who are dedicated to serving the community. In many cases, these individuals go about performing their deeds without any fanfare. It is not only fun to honor these individuals, but it is the right thing to do. The Chelsea Area Chamber of Commerce is pleased to facilitate the Chelsea Citizen of the Year Award on a yearly basis. For a complete list of previous Citizen of the Year recipients, see below.

2020 Citizen of the Year - Nancy Graebner

The Chelsea community is extremely fortunate to have the award-winning St. Joseph Mercy Chelsea hospital, led by a person of such high character, committed, with a clear vision of enhancing services and bringing high quality medical care to our residents. Nancy Graebner gives of her time selflessly, representing our community by serving on several boards, including the 5 Healthy Towns, the St. Louis Center, the Chelsea Senior Center and the Washtenaw County Community Mental Health Board, to name just a few.

Most significantly, during a world-wide pandemic, Nancy has led the work of the staff at the hospital, working endless hours to educate and heal our community. As a representative of all of our health care workers, this is a great year to recognize Nancy Graebner, as the Chelsea Community’s very well-deserving Citizen of the Year!

On behalf of the Chelsea Area Chamber of Commerce and the
citizens of Chelsea, we congratulate you and thank you for your dedication and service to our wonderful community of Chelsea, Michigan.

Citizen of Year Award Recipients

2020 Nancy Graebner

2019 Trinh Pifer

2018 Jeff Hardcastle

2017 Jim Randolph

2016 Art Finger

2015 Ed Vlcek

2014 Rick Eder

2013 Burrill Strong

2012 Linda Meloche

2011 John Frank

2009 Nancy Harris

2008 Sheila Morrison-Patrias

2007 Ronald Weiser

2006 Craig Common

2005 Jane Diesing

2004 Jack Merkel

2003 John Keusch

2002 Edwin GreenLeaf II

2001 Walter & Sandy Zeeb

2000 Walter & Helen Leonard

1999 Richard Steele

1998 Bob & Marj Daniels

1997 Gloria Mitchell

1996 Joe Merkel

1995 Katie Chapman

1994 Ann Feeney